Rahilia Hasanova Retrospective: Space of Sounds

Rahilia Hasanova Retrospective: Space of Sounds
Sunday, November 8 | 3 pm
Earl and Darielle Linehan Concert Hall

UMBC’s Department of Music presents a retrospective of the works of Azerbaijani composer Rahilia Hasanova, featuring four chamber works and two solo works spanning the composer’s output from 1994 to 2012, performed by Lisa Cella, flute; Gleb Kanasevich, clarinet; Airi Yoshioka, violin; Dorotea Racz, cello; and Dmitry Samogray and Ina Mirtcheva, piano.

Works featured on the retrospective include:
Gaval Dash for piano and cello
Dance of Fire for solo violin
Zarra for flute, clarinet, and piano
Pulse for clarinet, violin, and piano
Agog for solo clarinet
Nuva for violin, cello, and piano

In her compositions, Hasanova creates a synthesis of Azerbaijanian and European music by using modern composition techniques. The figurative side of her compositions is related to Eastern philosophy and ethics, and the interaction between macro and micro spaces, bringing forth dramatic culminations of both register and dynamics expressed by modal-meditative development. “Nature is an incredible source of my inspiration,” says Hasanova. “For me, this is the immense space and rich pallet of colors, sounds, and ideas. Here, everything is the complete model and conception for my compositions. It might be any landscape, a shape of horizon, or an encounter between atoms and particles. All these give me musical ideas that help to invent and form rhythmical streams, energies and pulsations of my compositions.”

Admission: $15 general, $10 seniors, $5 students, available through MissionTix. Tickets will also be available at the door, cash sales only.

Start Date:
Start Time:

End Date:
End Time:

Department Represented:

Venue Name:

Open Year Round:

CTA Text:
CTA Link:

Scroll to Top