I Resound Music Concert: Music by Women Composers

I Resound featured composers. Clockwise beginning at top left: Lomon, Anna Rubin, V, Lockwood, Rigler, Linda Dusman
I Resound featured composers. Clockwise beginning at top left: Ruth Lomon, Anna Rubin, Sofia Kamayianni, AnneaLockwood, Jane Rigler, Linda Dusman

Thursday, March 7
I Resound: Music By Women Composers
8 pm, Fine Arts Recital Hall

The I Resound Music Concert, presented by I Resound Press, features work by women contemporary composers. The program, performed by UMBC student and faculty pianists, percussionists, flutists and string players, as well as guest musicians, will draw from pieces available from the I Resound Press archive. Works will include:

  • Two Seaming by Jane Rigler
  • Snareway to Heaven by Patrice Repar
  • States by Linda Dusman, performed by UMBC sophomore Nancy Puckett
  • Sweet Sixteen by Ruth Lomon, performed by UMBC freshman Emily Heinz
  • Featuring student conductor Eugene Dorestal, “Volat” from Three Pieces for String Orchestra, by Sofia Kamayianni
  • Immersion by Annea Lockwood
  • “Honey” and “Comb” from Honeybee Works Suite by  Anna Rubin

I Resound Press, created in 2009 by Department of Music faculty member Linda Dusman, specializes in digital access to hand-copied scores of women composers, and operates under the mission of equalizing the level of women composers featured in contemporary music programming. The performance materials by women composers are selected for their imagination, innovation and craft. By providing fast and affordable access to scholars, performers, and the general public, the digital archive facilitates the study and programming of music reflecting the varied experiences that constitute women’s lives.

Admission to this event is free.

Start Date:
Start Time:

End Date:
End Time:

Department Represented:

Venue Name:

Open Year Round:

CTA Text:
CTA Link:

Scroll to Top